Nolan Arenado has won five Platinum Gloves, the most in major league history through 2021.

The St. Louis Cardinals’ third baseman won his awards in five consecutive seasons, from 2017 through 2021. The first four of those came when Arenado was a member of the Colorado Rockies, while he earned the 2021 bling for his work in St. Louis.

Now that you know who the Platinum Glove champion, you might have a couple of lingering questions. Like …

What Is the Platinum Glove?

Beginning in 2011, every Gold Glove winner each season became eligible to win his league’s Platinum Glove, awarded to the single best fielder, regardless of position. One Platinum Glove winner is named in each of the American League and National League every fall.

How Is the Platinum Glove Winner Chosen?

After the Gold Glove lineups in each league are announced following the season, fans vote for those players to determine the best of the best. The guy with the most votes in each league is named his circuit’s Platinum Glove winner for the campaign just finished.

List of Platinum Glove Winners

The table below presents the full list of Platinum Glove winners from 2011 through 2021:

YearNational League Platinum GloveAmerican League Platinum Glove
2021Nolan Arenado, 3B, St. Louis CardinalsCarlos Correa, SS, Houston Astros
2020Nolan Arenado, 3B, Colorado RockiesAlex Gordon, LF, Kansas City Royals
2019Nolan Arenado, 3B, Colorado RockiesMatt Chapman, 3B, Oakland A’s
2018Nolan Arenado, 3B, Colorado RockiesMatt Chapman, 3B, Oakland A’s
2017Nolan Arenado, 3B, Colorado RockiesByron Buxton, CF, Minnesota Twins
2016Anthony Rizzo, 1B, Chicago CubsFrancisco Lindor, SS, New York Mets
2015Yadier Molina, C, St. Louis CardinalsKevin Kiermaier, OF, Tampa Bay Rays
2014Yadier Molina, C, St. Louis CardinalsAlex Gordon, LF, Kansas City Royals
2013Andrelton Simmons, SS, Atlanta BravesManny Machado, 3B, Baltimore Orioles
2012Yadier Molina, C, St. Louis CardinalsAdrian Beltre, 3B, Texas Rangers
2011Yadier Molina, C, St. Louis CardinalsAdrian Beltre, 3B, Texas Rangers

As you can see from the table above, the St. Louis Cardinals have won the most Platinum Gloves (5), with Arenado’s Cardinals teammate Yadier Molina accounting for four of them.

In the American League, Adrian Beltre, Matt Chapman, and Alex Gordon have all won two awards, more than anyone else in the Junior Circuit.

And, if you’re trying to make predictions in any given year, you’d likely do well to turn your eyes toward the hot corner. Of the the 22 Platinum Gloves handed out between 2011 and 2021, a whopping ten of them went to third basemen!