The list of 2014 Gold Glove winners adds further evidence to the idea that great defenders are among some of the most underrated performers on the diamond.

Indeed, even though these guys were flashing their leather not too long ago — and even though some of them are still human highlight reels in the 2020s, not many are household names beyond the confines of their own backyard.

Still, if you want a quick trip down recent Major League Baseball (MLB) memory lane, or some fodder for amazement, the 2014 Gold Glove winners will make you happy … and leave your mouth agape.

Heck, some of them might still have a chance to turn up on the list of players with the most Gold Gloves.

Here his the complete list …

2014 Gold Glove Winners: American League

  • Pitcher: Dallas Keuchel
  • Catcher: Salvador Perez
  • First Base: Eric Hosmer
  • Second Base: Dustin Pedroia
  • Third Base: Kyle Seager
  • Shortstop: J.J. Hardy
  • Left Field: Alex Gordon
  • Centerfield: Adam Jones
  • Right Field: Nick Markakis

2014 Gold Glove Winners: National League

  • Pitcher: Zack Greinke
  • Catcher: Yadier Molina
  • First Base: Adrian Gonzalez
  • Second Base: DJ LeMahieu
  • Third Base: Nolan Arenado
  • Shortstop: Andrelton Simmons
  • Left Field: Christian Yelich
  • Centerfield: Juan Lagares
  • Right Field: Jason Heyward